Victim Compensation Program
of Colorado Crime Victim Compensation Program
Colorado's Crime Victim Compensation
Program was created by state statute (CRS §24-4.1-101) in 1981. Colorado
has a decentralized system, which means that crime victim compensation
programs exist in each of the state's 22 judicial districts. The judicial
district where the crime occurred is responsible for accepting and reviewing
victim compensation applications. If you are the victim of a violent
crime in Colorado, or if you are a Colorado resident who has been victimized
in a state or country that does not have a victim compensation program,
you may be eligible to receive crime victim compensation. Colorado residents
who are victims of terrorist acts may also be eligible for victim compensation.
Applications must be submitted to the district where the crime occurred.
Please refer to the information on this website titled: Victim
Compensation Administrators, or you can contact this office (303-239-4493)
to help you locate the correct district to apply for compensation.
may be eligible to receive up to $20,000 for out-of-pocket expenses
not covered by insurance or other collateral resources, or up to $1,000
in emergency funds directly related to the crime. Funds to pay crime
victim compensation claims do not come from taxpayers. These funds are
collected from fines from criminals convicted of felony, misdemeanor,
and some traffic offenses. Due to the number of claims and financial
constraints, not every program can pay up to the statutory maximum.
Again, you must contact the district where the crime occurred to determine
Eligibility Requirements (C.R.S. §24-4.1-108)
- The crime must
be one in which the victim sustains mental or bodily injury, dies,
or suffers property damage to locks, windows or doors to residential
property as a result of a compensable crime.
- The victim
must cooperate with law enforcement officials (district attorney,
- The police
were notified within 72 hours after the crime occurred.
- The injury
or death of the victim was not the result of the victim's own wrongdoing
or substantial provocation.
- The victimization
occurred on or after July 1, 1982.
- The application for compensation must be submitted within one year from the date of the crime; six months for property damage claims.
Note: The local Victim Compensation Board may waive some of these requirements, including the requirement that an application must be submitted within one year of the crime, or six months of the date of the property damage for cases involoving property, for good cause or in the interest of justice.
directly related to the compensable crime are eligible for reimbursement
- Medical expenses
- Mental health
- Lost wages
- Loss of support
- Funeral expenses
property damage, including security doors
Note: Please refer to Colorado Revised Statute (§24-4.1-109) and the program administrator
in the district where the crime occurred for a comprehensive list
of compensable losses.
to File a Claim
To download Adobe
Acrobat Reader, free of charge, click on the icon.
back to top
are required to apply for Victim Compensation in the district where
the crime occurred by completing an application and submitting itemized
bills directly related to the crime in the district where the crime
occurred. The processing time is different for each district, however,
it generally takes 30-45 days to be notified of the program's decision.
You may contact the victim compensation administrator in the district
where the crime occurred for an application or may use the application
attached below and send it to the Victim Compensation administrator.
Districts may require additional information from applicants.
Judicial Districts have a system in place to assist non-English speaking
victims of crime. Please contact the Victim Compensation Administrator
in the Judicial District where the crime occurred for further assistance.
Note: If a victim's compensation claim is denied or the award reduced,
the victim has a right to ask the board to reconsider it's decision.
The victim should be notified of the right to request reconsideration
of the board's decision in writing.